October 24th, 2013

Marblehead, MA

42° 31.03’ N, 70° 52.19’ W

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” –Mark Twain

Here we are! Aboard the lady Sedna, moored about 30 minutes away from the dock by dinghy, and just about ready to settle down into our berths for our first night’s sleep. For me, a simple 4-hour bus ride was all it took today to get to Boston. But for Travis it included a bus ride, train ride, plane ride, another bus ride, walking around Boston to find me, and then another walk, a subway ride, a bus ride, a car ride, and finally a dinghy ride until he finally arrived at his new home.

I think we’re all still a little shocked that it’s finally coming together. Only a few weeks ago, I spontaneously called up Clay the night I arrived in Boston to see if we could meet up to talk about sailing. The next morning I was on a bus north to Marblehead where we met up, got out to the boat, and took her for a short little sail – during which we chatted about our backgrounds, why we want to sail, what possibilities we’d have and theoretical logistics. I’ve been planning for months to crew on a sailboat, and was set on making it a reality. But Clay didn’t know that, and further more didn’t really know all that much about me (let alone this mysterious Travis person). I don’t think he was convinced I was going to come back. Two weeks later Travis and I are passing our luggage to Clay who’s already in the dinghy. As we rode our overburdened little dinghy out to Sedna, the moon rose over the treetops displaying the evening’s lunar eclipse: a welcome omen to start our voyage on the waves.

~ Natasha

Image

